You can get details on where to put badges on your uniform by clicking on the link below:

   Badge Positions  

Scouts take responsibility for understanding the badge requirements and managing their own progress.

There are two main types of Scout badges:

Activity Badges: these allow Scouts to show their progress in existing pursuits, but also to try all kinds of new things and form new interests. Details on the activity badges can be found here.

Challenge Badges: Involve accomplishing a number of more ambitious tasks within the Troop or community. There are several challenge badges with different themes, from the physical and outdoors to dealing with the local community or issues connected with the Scouting world.


Chief Scout's Gold Award

The main award that you should be working towards is the Chief Scout's Gold award, which means getting a number of challenge badges. You need to:

- Earn six activity or staged activity badges of your choice. They could be badges you gain outside of your normal meetings or ones you’ve achieved through your programme.

- Complete the nine challenge awards. These are:

  • World Challenge
  • Skills Challenge
  • Creative Challenge
  • Outdoors Challenge
  • Adventure Challenge
  • Expedition Challenge
  • Teamwork Challenge
  • Team Leader Challenge
  • Personal Challenge

   Adventure Challenge 

There are some notes on the Adventure Challenge here.